Reflecting on Rabiger…

Michael Rabiger has written about creating films which we have been drawing upon this week. What I have personally taken most from his work is intentionality in film making. It is one thing to create a visually aesthetic film that is beautifully edited. It is another to fully engage with every aspect of the film, from subject, to framing, to intended audience.

Applying his ideas to my own film I would like to create a film that shows the point of view of the students partaking in the film. The structure of the film will be dictated by the footage I take from their day, with interview just supplementing that. Ultimately I would like the audience to feel empathy with the subjects of the film and gain more understanding into what it is like to deal with the workload we have.

The footage I film of their day will have little intervention from myself, with the focus being on what their average day-to-day life is like. I would like to also gain some insight into each characters personality.

Ultimately what I want from my film is to create something that shows to an outside audience the ups and downs of life as a student, while also making something that the participants will like.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑