Editing is harder than I thought…

I began the editing process this week. Although technically I am very comfortable with all aspects of editing the film, the issues I am having are actually deciding how to edit the film to portray what I had originally envisioned. With all the footage I have there are several different films I could make. To name a two I am considering; I could make a traditional ‘day in the life’ and put time stamps on the footage to show what each participant was doing at certain times of the day. Within that I could either have one participants day, and then the other. Or I could spice them together to have one continuous day that jumps between the two participants. With that second option I am worried that it will become too hard to follow as I am not sure how the footage will fit together. How do editors decide how to shape their footage? It’s so hard! This is probably why traditional film makers use story boards, but they’re not really applicable to most ethnographic films.

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 11.11.48

For now I am just playing around with the clips I have, placing them on the timeline and thinking about how to fit them together. I’m going to make small segments of my favourite ideas I think to see how they flow. Hopefully something will stand out as the right route to take!

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 11.10.57

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑