Differing Opinions…

In class today I had the opportunity to show some of the footage I had gathered to my class mates to get their feedback both on the clips I had taken and my vision of my film as a whole. Mike, our supervisor, suggested we pose some questions to do with the issues or insight we felt we needed with our film.

Screen Shot 2017-04-20 at 14.25.07

The questions posed specifically came from my indecision on how in incorporate the interview footage I intend to gather with the B-roll footage of my participants days. When trying to conceptualise my film I have a lot of different visions for how it could turn out in the end, and choosing the best way to film to realise these goals has proved somewhat of a challenge at times. With interviews particularly I do not know whether I want to show large segments of the filmed interviews in between the footage of their days, or if I would rather just show a shorter clip of the interview at the beginning of the segment in order to place them as an individual character before solely using the interview audio over the B-roll footage. So I posed these questions to them to keep in mind while viewing some parts of my footage. Mike, our lecturer and supervisor, suggested they also consider the sort of information they expected to hear while viewing the footage which was helpful to understand the narrative the footage on its own portrayed.

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 11.11.48

Hearing their feedback was incredibly useful as it gave me new perspectives and ways of editing my film that I hadn’t previously considered, however it also complicated it in some ways as well as each person and group had differing opinions on the form my film should take. My few ideas for how to edit my footage down are now back to a dozen ideas, but it was certainly interesting hearing the different interpretations people have of the same images and I’m excited to play around with my footage again.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑